Federal Network Agency

EMF measurement series

The Federal Network Agency is obliged to document the functionality of the site certification procedure by taking a regular series of EMF measurements.

Therefore selected sites are used to carry out field strength measurements for the entire frequency range intended for all radio equipment (9 kHz to 3 GHz). The test sites are selected by the Federal Network Agency on the basis of criteria such as heavily frequented public places.

The individual states' environment ministries can also designate test sites for the EMF measurement series. The Federal Network Agency accepts the states' selection of test sites without any changes and carries out the test.

The application of measuring regulations agreed with the states' environment ministries allows for direct comparability of the test results. This is another step towards more transparency, as the test results can be compared directly with one another..


Measurement instruction for EMF measurement series:


Measurement instruction (pdf, 50 kb)


Date of modification: 2010.07.14

Additional Information

EMF database

EMF monitoring, online search of measurement series and fixed radio installations:

EMF database

EMF - Data gateway for regional government authorities and local authorities and communities



Links for further information on the subject of EMF

more: Links …

Send this page

© 2013 Federal Network Agency - Section 414